Search

Tyne Cot Cemetery

CWGC Tyne Cot Cemetery is an impressive yet understated haven of tranquillity that extends through the former battle landscape. With its 11,956 graves, it is one of the largest Commonwealth cemeteries in the world and it is a silent witness to the bloody Battle of Passchendaele. During the British offensive of 1917, almost 600,000 victims fell in 100 days for a territorial gain of only eight kilometres. 

‘Tyne Cot’ was originally a German defence position on the first line in Flanders. In October 1917, the Australian troops established an aid station there that soon grew into a small cemetery with 340 graves for the soldiers who had succumbed to their injuries on the spot. After the war – between 1919 and 1921 – the British ‘Exhumation Companies’ collected 12,000 dead from the surrounding battlefields. Of these, only 3,800 bodies could be identified. The wall behind the cemetery contains the names of 35,000 soldiers with no known grave. They include British, Irish and New Zealanders who perished in the region after 16 August 1917.  

Many tens and even hundreds of thousands of visitors come each year to pay their respects to the men – some still only boys – who lost their lives in the surrounding battlefields. A visit leaves no one unmoved. The cemetery was designed by Sir Herbert Baker and inaugurated in 1927. Nowadays, the Commonwealth War Graves Commission is responsible for maintaining the cemetery.

The visitors’ centre, which the British Queen Elizabeth II and the former Belgian Queen Paola inaugurated in 2007, provides more information about the cemetery itself and offers a panoramic view over the battlefields of 1917. A 3 km walking route, with thematic information panels, takes you from the Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 to CWGC Tyne Cot  Cemetery. The visitors’ centre is managed by the Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917.

Vijfwegestraat
8980 Passendale

Opening hours visitors’ centre:
Daily: 10h00 - 18h00
Closed: 1/12 - 31/1

Zoeken

Tyne Cot Cemetery

CWGC Tyne Cot Cemetery

Le « CWGC Tyne Cot Cemetery » constitue un havre de paix tant impressionnant que modeste qui s’étend dans l’ancien paysage de guerre. Ses 11 956 tombes font de lui le plus grand cimetière du Commonwealth au monde, témoin silencieux de la sanglante Bataille de Passchendaele. Durant cette offensive britannique de 1917, près de 600 000 victimes perdirent ici la vie en moins de 100 jours pour un déplacement du front de seulement 8 km.

« Tyne Cot » était à l’origine une ligne de défense allemande de la Ligne Flandern I. En octobre 1917, les troupes australiennes y établirent un poste de secours, rapidement transformé en cimetière de petite taille de 340 tombes où reposent les soldats qui y succombèrent à leurs blessures. Après la guerre, entre 1919 et 1921, les « Exhumation Companies » britanniques rassemblèrent 12 000 morts sur les champs (de bataille) avoisinants, dont seulement 3 800 défunts purent être identifiés. Les noms de 35 000 soldats sans sépulture connue figurent sur le mur à l’arrière du cimetière : des Britanniques, Irlandais et Néo-Zélandais qui périrent au combat après le 16 août 1917.

Chaque année, des dizaines, voire des centaines de milliers de visiteurs viennent rendre hommage à ces hommes, des fois encore des garçons, qui perdirent la vie sur les champs de bataille des alentours. Une visite qui ne laisse personne indifférent. Les plans du cimetière, inauguré en 1927, sont de la main de Sir Herbert Baker. Aujourd’hui, la  « Commonwealth War Graves Commission » est responsable de l’entretien du cimetière.

Le centre des visiteurs, inauguré en 2007 par la Reine Elizabeth II et l’ancienne Reine Paola de Belgique, fournit de plus amples explications sur le cimetière et offre une vue panoramique sur les champs de bataille de 1917. Une boucle de promenade longue de 3 km et parsemée de panneaux informatifs thématiques mène les visiteurs du Musée Mémorial Passchendaele 1917 au Tyne Cot Cemetery. 

Vijfwegestraat
8980 Passendale

Heures d'ouverture centre des visiteurs:
Tous les jours: 10u00 - 18u00
Fermé: 1/12 - 31/1